Postal Dept to extend core banking solutions to nine more post offices


After facilitating core banking solutions (CBS) at the four post offices in the district, the Postal Department is all set to extend this facility to nine more post offices in the district.

It will enable account holders in these post offices to access various online services.

The four CBS enabled post offices, which are operating under the Amritsar Postal Division, are General Post Office (GPO), head post offices at Amritsar, and Tarn Taran, besides Guru Nanak Dev University and Gandhi Bazar post offices.

Nine post offices to be brought under the CBS are located at Kot Atma Ram, Katra Sher Singh, Guru Ramdas Niwas, Kangra Colony, Guru Bazar, Chabbal Road, Chheharta, Northern railway workshop and Medical College.

Officials of the Postal Department said the process was expected to be completed by next month.

Under the CBS, saving account holders and customers of other schemes in post offices will be in a position to carry out transaction at any of the branch, irrespective of their account with a particular post office.